Visit

Ossabaw Island

Overnight Trips

Wild Night on Ossabaw

New Year’s Eve Overnight Trip

Tuesday December 31, 2019 – Wednesday January 01, 2020

 

Spend New Year’s Eve on Ossabaw Island on an overnight trip,with tales of Ossabaw Island around the fire pit after dinner. Plus, a midnight champagne toast to welcome 2019.

 

Hosted by the Ossabaw Island Foundation

 

Click Here to Register

Get Creative on Ossabaw:
Two-Night Trip

Friday January 4 – Sunday January 6, 2019
Friday April 5 – Sunday April 7, 2019
Tuesday July 30 – Thursday August 1, 2019

 

Paint, sketch, write, or take photos on Ossabaw Island. Let the island by your muse. Spend two nights and experience the island’s inspiring features of marsh vistas, maritime forests, wildlife sightings. Bring your own art supplies.

 

Hosted by the Ossabaw Island Foundation.

 

Click Here to Register

Ossabaw Island Winter Writers’ Retreat

Friday March 1 – Wednesday March 6, 2019

 

Six days and five nights of individualized workshops, lectures, readings, and manuscript consultations. Faculty: Craig Johnson, Beverly Donofrio, Neil Shepard, and Tony Morris. Limited to eighteen participants. ossabawwritersretreat.org. Hosted by the Ossabaw Island Writers’ Retreat.

 

ossabawwritersretreat.org or 912-344-3123

Turtle Hatching Two-Night Weekends

Friday July 26 – Sunday July 28, 2019
Friday August 2 – Sunday August 4, 2019

 

Observe Georgia DNR Sea Turtle Conservation Program interns as they inventory loggerhead turtle nests for eggs and live hatchlings. In 2018, 199 sea turtle nests were documented on Ossabaw.

 

Led by coastal ecologist/naturalist John “Crawfish” Crawford.

 

Hosted by the Ossabaw Island Foundation.

 

Click Here to Register

three turtle hatchlings scuttle across sand. The sand shows tracks where other other turtles have crossed it.

Georgia Conservancy Volunteer Weekend

Friday February 8 – Sunday February 10, 2019
(Rescheduled from September 2018)

Friday November 8 – Sunday November 10, 2019

 

Support the preservation of Ossabaw Island by giving back with some elbow grease. Yard work, marsh clean-up, scrubbing and cleaning island structures.

 

Hosted by the Georgia Conservancy.

 

georgiaconservancy.org or 404-876-2900